Skip to main content

Resource Library

Newsletter icon

June 16, 2023

The Six Pathways: Frameworks for Implementing Deflection to Treatment, Services, and Recovery

There are six frameworks, or pathways, of deflection and pre-arrest diversion, each of which uses a different approach to address specific public health and safety challenges. In contrast to justice system interventions that mandate treatment, first responders and community response teams are able instead to offer access, or pathways, to community-based treatment, services, and resources to support individuals in need. This overview describes how each of the six pathways typically work.

Pick Your Pathway Pathway